Outstanding Contribution

ESB Outstanding Contribution to Engineering Award

Sponsored by ESB 

The ESB Outstanding Contribution to Engineering award recognises an individual or group of individuals who have made a significant difference to the engineering profession over their careers. The recipient will be announced at the Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards Friday, 9 November 2018. 
Congratulations to our 2018 ESB Outstanding Contribution to Engineering winner, Eoghan Lynch, Chartered Engineer and Chairman of Arup Ireland. 
Eoghan Lynch graduated as a Civil Engineer from UCC in 1980 and then completed a Masters in Ocean Engineering at University College London in 1981. Eoghan worked in the offshore oil and gas industry in the UK and Norway before joining Arup in Cork in 1989.  He has worked on the engineering and management of a number of energy infrastructure projects such as the Ballycotton Field Development and Kinsale Head Offshore Gas Compression project for Marathon Petroleum; the Beattock Compressor Station in Scotland and the Mayo-Galway pipeline for Bord Gáis. 
Eoghan was Managing Director of Arup in Ireland from 2011 to March this year.  He is currently Chairperson of Arup in Ireland as well as a Project Director working on energy and water projects.