The Engineers Ireland Council is made up of elected members representing the regional and divisional spread of the organisation, and operates under the provisions of our code of ethics and bye-laws.

About the Council

The Council is regulated by the Engineers Ireland Bye-Laws and Code of Ethics. As a body, it has powers to:

  • Appoint Executive Board members
  • Approve proposals made by the Executive Board on the annual budget, statement of annual accounts and membership subscriptions

The Council generally meets five times a year.


Council Members, session 2017-2018


  • Murt Coleman, Chair, Finance Committee
  • Niall English, Chair, Board of Examiners, (BEX)
  • Majella Henchion, Chair, Membership Qualification Board, (MQB)

Elected Corporate Members

  • Elina Bychkova
  • Richard McCormack
  • Rob Dowdall
  • Colm Ennis
  • Pat Healy
  • Jim Leahy
  • Orla Lonergan
  • Seán Lenihan
  • Paul Murphy
  • John McCarthy
  • Jamie Goggins
  • Clare Duffy


  • Siobhán Fahey
  • John Garrett
  • Amanda Gibney
  • John Jordan
  • Peter Power
  • Jeffrey Roe
Regional branch representatives
Robert Eadie Northern Region
Shane Murray South East Region
Charlie Kerr Donegal Region
Hugh McCarthy GB Region
Dawn Roberts An Ríocht (Kerry)
Pat Nally Midland Region
Kate Lehane Cork Region
Amanda-Jane Gainford North East Region
Barry Lowe Thomond Region
Darren McDonnell Australia/New Zealand
David Mulligan North West Region
John Butler West Region
Divisional representatives
Michael Goss Civil Division
John Kane Energy and Environment Division
Greg Hanna Electrical and Electronic Division
Paul McDonald Local Government Division
Pat Kelly Computing Division
John Bailey Structures and Construction Division
Shane Breslin Chemical and Process Division
Declan Gibbons Biomedical Engineering Division
Bróna Carroll Agriculture and Food Division
David O'Connor Fire and Safety Division
Dermot Brabazon Mechanical and Manufacturing Division
Dave Linehan Young Engineers Society